top of page
Search

Shenandoah State of Mind

Updated: Jun 25, 2021


I was lucky enough to be able to take some time off for a trip to the Shenandoahs with family last week. I'd never seen the area in-person, but heard the mountains described in gorgeous detail for so long that I had to wonder what I was missing.


I was missing a lot.


The mountains there rolled and rippled and, sometimes, formed rocky crags at their peaks. On a hike up Old Rag Mountain, views like this completely erased all I expected from stories and pictures. The mountains reminded me: don't think. Just look.




I knew it would be beautiful. But I didn't know it would be like this.


After the hike, we built a campfire outside our cabin. We had just enough time to roast marshmallows before it started to snow and rain. A cold wind blew dark skies overhead. Within seconds, far-off mountains were quickly swallowed by sheets of gray. And we ran for cover.


While I watched the landscape change from underneath the protection of the cabin roof, I realized this would not be my reality much longer. I looked out toward the furthest ridge and imagined myself there, under a little tree cover, getting soaked through. Maybe I'd be setting up my tent early. Maybe I'd get in a mile or two more. Either way, there would be no easy way out of the rain, no quick way to get warm again.


Time is passing quickly now, and my hike is only a few weeks away. I'm excited, but I'm also trying to mentally prepare for the discomfort ahead. It's inevitable out there.


The Shenandoahs reminded me that, as amazing as heated cabins are, it's time to really start getting out there: pitching my tent in the dark; sleeping outside alone; waking up in the early morning, rain or shine. I have a few trips planned in May to do just that, so stay tuned to hear how those go... :)


 

Once again, the best way to support me is to donate to Outdoor Afro using the "donate" tab at the top of the page. I've had some folks offer to help me on my journey by paying for gear. At this point, I've gathered all my gear and am essentially ready for my first day on trail. It is a privilege for me to be able to acquire gear and take months off to hike. So, what would be most meaningful to me is if you could donate to help more folks get out there who may not have the financial means or who are not yet connected to an outdoor community that can provide training, resources, and support. The outdoors are as crucial as ever in helping people heal from past and current traumas, and one trip outside could legitimately change the trajectory of someone's life.


Some really awesome news: WE HAVE OUR FIRST DONOR. We are now $50 into our $2,193 goal!!! Thank you to the amazing individual who made this first donation to Outdoor Afro and for your support in general. I am so thankful!


As promised, here is the next audio excerpt of my Capstone project, "Stories of the Appalachian Trail." It's a bit rough (can you hear the allergies???) but I hope you enjoy anyway.



Happy trails,

Anna

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page